I never thought I would…thanks Amazon!

Those of you who know me know that I love to go grocery shopping.  Yes, I’m weird, and it comes from experiences in childhood, but it is what it is.  The family is lucky because I’ll run down to the market if they need anything and they don’t have to bother with it.

I’ve been a member of Amazon Prime for a while, and we use most of the services (free shipping, streaming movies, music, etc), but I was balking a bit when they raised the yearly fee from $79 to $99.  I was weighing the features we use versus price to see if we were really coming out ahead in the end.  Then came Amazon Prime Now.

What is Amazon Prime Now?  Basically the advertisement for it reads “Skip the trip and shop for tens of thousands of daily essentials and gift items through the Amazon Prime Now app. Two-hour delivery is FREE and one-hour delivery is available in most areas for just $7.99. Prime Now is available from early morning to late night, seven days a week.

The only odd thing is you have to place the order on your mobile device (no laptop).  Hence for the longest time I ignored this feature–I just don’t do orders on my smartphone.  The other day, however, I needed to go pick up a couple of 24-packs of bottled water and some Gatorade.  I was doing a bunch of other stuff and didn’t really feel like going to the grocery store, so on a whim I opened up the Amazon Prime Now app.  I figured the grocery items would probably be double the price of the grocery store, and was shocked to find that the prices were exactly the same, sometimes lower, and a few items were a few cents more.  (I also have my grocery store app on my phone so I could check the prices real time at my local store).  Same prices, no delivery fee, AND they would bring it to my doorstep in two hours???  Hello, I am there!  A few swipes of the phone and voila, order placed.  Two hours later I had three packs of water and two multipacks of Gatorade sitting on my front porch.

That is AWESOME.  Granted, they don’t carry all the items my grocery store has, but they have a decent selection.  And it’s not only dry goods, but frozen foods, refrigerated items, fresh produce, bakery items, medicine, etc.  Not to mention gift stuff, household supplies, decor, the list goes on and on.

Today once again was a jam packed day of activity, and this morning hubby informed me we were out of honey.  Looking through the pantry and refrigerator I made a list of items–honey, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, etc, with every intention of going to the store after picking the munchkin up from school.  By the time that rolled around traffic was horrible, so while I was parked in line waiting to pick her up, I pulled up the Amazon Prime Now app, searched for all the items I needed and less than ten minutes later had them ordered.  Since I wasn’t in a rush I still opted for the two hour free delivery, but it’s nice to know I could pony up $7.99 and have whatever I ordered delivered within the hour.

I never thought I would use a service for grocery delivery, but now that I have, I have to say it’s pretty sweet.  Thanks Amazon!

Leave a Reply

