I won!

Okay, it was only $4, but I did win a prize in the powerball lottery drawing Saturday.  Spent $2 for the quick pick, got $4 back, so I’m ahead $2.  You can bet I’ll definitely buy a $2 quick pick for Wednesday since the jackpot will be $1.3 BILLION dollars (maybe more, depending on how frenzied people get buying tickets).

We’re still daydreaming about moving in four years.  After some investigating we’ve discovered the property taxes are MUCH lower in the prospective areas than they are here.  Heck, the property tax on a half million dollar home is less than what we are paying for our $266,000 property.  The half million dollar home is on my radar if I win enough in the lottery.  Here it is: http://www.realtor.com/realestateandhomes-detail/725-Depot-St_Jonesborough_TN_37659_M85085-41774
(Winning the lottery is key, since we are actually looking at downsizing when we move to stretch our retirement income further, be able to travel, etc).

I don’t know why homes like this feel “familiar” to me, but they do.  It is truly a gut reaction.  There’s one in town here…every time I drive by it there is a ‘tug’.  I can’t describe it more than that, but it’s there.  When I saw the pictures for the listing above, that same gut reaction happened.  It’s not like when I see a southern style farmhouse with a wide wraparound porch–that feels like home.  The 1800 time-frame buildings evoke a different feeling, but it’s on par to that.  I’d snatch up that listing in a heartbeat, maybe make it a bed and breakfast kind of deal.

The downside to daydreaming about moving is that it causes you to cast a critical eye on your current abode.  Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE my house.  In fact, if I could just pick the house up and move it to a different state I’d be ecstatic.  But, when you look at it from a buyer’s point of view, you start to see the little things/big things that need addressing–paint, removal of less than pleasing wallpaper, changing out light fixtures, switching out carpet for tile in the master bathroom (I’ve never understood why people put carpet in bathrooms of all places), updating faucets, etc.  I guess I should be happy that if we do take the plunge, it’s four years out.  That’ll give us time to address the things we can change to make a better sale in the end.

Well, fire’s going in the fireplace, and I’m getting ready to roast a chicken for dinner.  Oh, and I found a recipe for a killer berry cobbler that is as simple as can be.  Take one cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and mix together.  In a separate bowl mix one egg with 1/4 cup milk and 2 tablespoons oil.  Add to flour mixture and stir until combined.  Press out the resulting dough/batter mixture into the bottom of a SLOW COOKER.  Yes, you are going to cook this in a crock pot.  In a large bowl combine 1 cup sugar and 1/4 cup flour.  Stir in one pint container of fresh blueberries and one container of fresh raspberries until they are completely coated with the sugar/flour mixture.  Spread the berries over the dough/batter.  Cover and cook on low for about 2 1/2 hours.  Serve with vanilla ice cream.

It doesn’t get any easier than that.

Leave a Reply

