Working in the yard

It looks like winter has finally moved on out, and the weather has been absolutely gorgeous in the upper 70’s to low 80’s.  The Texas Mountain Laurel trees are all blooming throughout the neighborhood, and the fragrance of Bubblicious Grape bubble gum is wafting on the spring breeze.

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7606/16918057571_6f0d6643d1_c.jpg

We’ve had more than seven inches of rain since the beginning of the year, so everything is greening up nicely.  We made a run up to Lowes and picked up the wood we needed to make another raised garden box as well as soil to fill it.  A few hours later we had this:

Eight feet long, three feet wide yields 24 squares to plant in.  Since my tomato seeds are still little seedlings, I picked up five tomato plants to get a head start on the season.

I went through and weeded the other three boxes we made last year.  Since I had lined them with solar screen before filling them, there was very little weeding to do.  I still have some onions, carrots and broccoli in them that made it through the winter, and I tossed in a new bell pepper plant.

I also found a nice basil plant and stuck it in a pot on the patio.

I’m getting started a little later than I would prefer, but I had no choice since winter seemed to want to hang around forever.  We have just a few logs left of the two face cords of wood we bought last fall–normally that would have lasted us two winters.

Oh well…at least it’s finally warming up and I can dig in the dirt again!  🙂

Leave a Reply

