A pretty good day

It’s been a pretty good day today, though kind of strange.  It’s, what, April 24th?  I woke up to 25 mph winds and temperatures in the 40s.  In San Antonio.  That is completely unheard of.  I’ve spent the day with a fire going in the fireplace and essentially staying indoors.  The wind is kicking up all sorts of pollen and crud and my sinuses are NOT happy.  The one thing that helps is Claritin D, but it makes my skin crawl and makes my tummy nauseous.  Lovely.  So I picked the stuffy nose/headache over a clear head and bugs on my skin.

I’ve been able to focus on more normal, everyday things lately.  A good friend of mine sent me some suggestions on how to handle my negative emotions that had been overwhelming me lately, and the suggestions worked quite well.  Sometimes it takes someone standing on the outside, who understands what’s going on, to give a subtle kick in the rear and get things moving along.  So, what are some of those normal, everyday things?  My brother and his wife are coming over this weekend, and bringing my nephew!

photo

Isn’t he the cutest thing ever???  Yeah, I know I’m prejudiced, but he is a perfect little angel in my eyes.  I can’t put into words how happy I am for my brother and sister-in-law.  I never thought the day would come, but always knew they would make awesome parents.  Thankfully the harm my mother did faded enough for them to take this step.  I’ll definitely wear waterproof mascara this weekend.  🙂

I spent the day planning the menu today.  At first I was going to go all out, preparing a Thanksgiving day menu because, well, if this isn’t worthy of Thanksgiving, I don’t know what is.  But I soon realized if I’m taking the time to cook a bunch of different dishes, I won’t have time to devote to the newest munchkin.  So, the final menu consists of a ham and sausage gumbo with steamed rice, homemade french bread, and two desserts- – Grandma’s lemon meringue pie and Emeril’s banana cream pie with caramel drizzle and chocolate sauce.  The gumbo has plenty of veggies in it, so it’s like combining a full meal in one dish.

Although I didn’t get anything done outside today in the garden, I had plenty of time to relax, enjoy the fireplace and play with creating a menu.  This kitchen geek is one happy lady.  *grin*

Leave a Reply

