Kitchen appliances and a mausoleum

There’s a title I bet you never thought you’d see, lol!  The first part of this post will be about my newest obsession, my Bosch 300 series double electric wall oven.  The last part of the post will be about my first experience with a mausoleum, and a totally creeped out vibe.

First, the good stuff–my Bosch series 300 electric double wall oven:

photo

photo

Okay, I’ll admit, I’m a MAJOR kitchen nerd.  Cooking and gardening are some of my top passions.  When our old wall oven started malfunctioning and I found out how much it would cost to repair it, it made more sense to invest in a quality oven.  I didn’t go with the 500 or 800 series, just for the simple fact they had TOO many bells and whistles.  The 300 series works perfectly for me, and there are less doodads to malfunction (I’m a firm believer in Murphy’s Law).

This is an AWESOME oven.  Temperature is perfect, cooking is absolutely even (no overdone or underdone spots), and it even has a “proof” setting, which I haven’t tried yet.  (Provides the perfect temperature for bread dough to rise).

If there is a brand I highly recommend, it’s Bosch.  I have the double wall oven, a glass cooktop and a dishwasher made by them.  The oven is new, but the other two appliances have been used excessively over the last 3+ years and have performed perfectly with no problems.  Normally I try to buy USA made, but unfortunately most brands that have a USA “name” have manufacturing plants and/or parts made in Mexico, China, etc.  The reviews are horrible, and I refuse to trade hard-earned money for crap.

Now, onto the second part of this post.  Hubby signed up as a Find A Grave volunteer.  We’ll take requests to search for and photograph graves in the San Antonio and surrounding area for the website.  Hubby claimed five requests for the area, and since today was our day off we went in search of these final resting places.  One of the requests took us to a popular cemetery, and inquiring at the office revealed the final resting place was in the main mausoleum.  They gave hubby a key to access it, a map with vague directions, and a smile.

The “main” mausoleum is a huge building with at least eight (probably more) different entrances.  We found the key would open the outer doors, but not the inner doors.  I have never been in a mausoleum before, so this was a new experience.  And initially, it was quite unpleasant.

The first door we opened revealed a pitch black inner chamber.  Feeling around, we finally find a light switch.  OMFG.  Picture a long hallway, between thirty to fifty feet long, carpeted, dimly lit, with a door at the other end.  The walls of the hallway go WAY up, to the point you’re looking straight up to see the top wall crypts.  Yes, I said wall crypts.  The walls are solid wall crypts.  More than a half dozen vertical rows up, top to bottom, side to side, make up these walls.  Floor to ceiling.  BLACK granite.  I was rationalizing it was the solid black granite, but it felt totally creepy.  It was cold, too, not like air-conditioning cold, but make-your-bones-ache cold.  Making our way down to the end of the hallway, we quickly find the deadbolt lock on the door doesn’t match the key we have.  Looking at the rows upon rows of wall crypts, I realize there are only a few “occupied”.  The names don’t match the one we’re looking for.  Halfway through I tell hubby, “I don’t care what happens, I DON’T want to be buried in a mausoleum.  This is too creepy.”  The feeling was just gross, the kind of hair-standing-up-on-the-back-of-your-neck gross.

We make our way out of that wing, go around, find another door and another wing.  Same song, different verse.  By this time I’m rationalizing to myself it’s just a burial place, it’s the black granite that’s creeping me out, etc.  There’s no way I would ever bury a loved one within those walls.  Given the sparse occupation, others apparently share my feelings.

The third wing changes the whole vibe of the experience.  The granite (or marble) is a much lighter color, the lighting in the area is much better, and it’s no longer cold.  Still looking for the person, we wander into the fourth wing.  Here the stone is the lighter color, the lighting and temperature are both warm, and we actually find the crypt we’re looking for.  After taking pictures, I look down towards the end of the corridor and see an absolutely beautiful setting.  Instead of a door, the wall is set with a warm-toned granite in the shape of a cross.  Each section has a name plate along with dates of birth and death.  Next to each section, though, is a clear plexiglass niche.  The niche holds an urn with the person’s ashes, and many of the niches contain pictures and items that were personally important to the deceased.  The personalization of each space was absolutely beautiful–veterans contained medals and awards along with the American flag, parents and grandparents had mementos from their children and grandchildren, little statues of pets that represented a bond to the deceased, etc.  The whole vibe of the area was filled with warmth, light and love.  It was totally opposite of the first two wings we had visited.  I told hubby I would be more than happy with the plexiglass niche as a final resting place.  It truly reflected the life, happiness and love of the person resting within.  Those first two wings were just claustrophobic, cold, impersonal, suffocating.  I don’t know what those designers were thinking, but they needed to pull their heads out of their rears.

So, this sums up my ‘ooooo’ and ‘ughhhh’ of the day.  🙂  If you’re in the market for a kitchen appliance, check out what Bosch has to offer.  If you’re in the market for a mausoleum resting place, make sure you know what you’re getting ahead of time, if at all possible.

Leave a Reply

