Connecting the dots on Ancestry.com

In the midst of preparing for Thanksgiving with a minimum of 9 people and a max of 15 expected at the table, I decided to do a little mind-numbing on Ancestry.com.  I should have known better.  One can easily lose four or more hours on there when you start “connecting the dots”.  Here is where I stand so far:

My grandmother told me many tales about our family history, many of which I have been able to confirm through research.  One that had remained elusive, though, was the tale of the full-blooded Cherokee woman in our tree.  According to my grandmother, her great-great-great grandmother was a full-blooded Cherokee Indian, which would have been my great-great-great-great-great grandmother.  There are many tales in many families about a “full-blooded Cherokee Indian”, hence many scoff at the idea, saying it’s nothing but a fanciful tale.

In my research, I have traced back multiple lines.  If you know both your mother and father,  you have 4 lines of grandparents, 8 lines of great-grandparents, 16 lines of great-great grandparents, 32 lines of great-great-great grandparents, 64 lines of great-great-great-great grandparents, etc, etc.  It’s easy to focus on one or two of those lines and lose sight of the rest of your branches, thinking you’re “done” when you reach the end of a line.  No, you are not done, not by any stretch of the imagination.

Since I only know information from my mother’s side, my lines are divided in half, i.e. 32 lines of great-great-great grandparents instead of 64.  But, since the Cherokee Indian was from my maternal grandmother’s side, I’m at least on the right side of the tree.  Going back, I found one of my great-great-great-great grandmothers was named Laomi.  I have a picture of her daughter, and the first thing out of my husband’s mouth upon seeing that picture was “she’s definitely Native American Indian”.  Yeah, it’s that strong.  Laomi is a variation of Lahoma, which means The People, origin Native American.  So, if Laomi is my 4th great-grandmother, then her mother would have been my 5th great-grandmother, which according to my grandma was the full-blooded Cherokee Indian.

There is little information on Laomi’s mother, no maiden name, just a record of her marrying her husband in 1794 in South Carolina.  South Carolina at the time had  Cherokee Indians.  So did Georgia, which was where they moved to before heading on to Illinois and then Arkansas.  They had 10 children, and while Laomi was my 4th great-grandmother, her sister also married my 3rd great-grand uncle.

Given the picture of Laomi’s daughter, I was certain I had found the Native American link my grandmother told me of way back when.  Recently, though, something else confirmed at least the Native American ancestry.

On my DNA results, a moderate link match came up for 5th through 8th cousin.  The person I share that link with is a full-blooded  Native American Indian, not only by DNA but by family tree surnames of White Eagle, Fox Chief, etc.

Information like this is more than worth the $99 I paid for the test.  Although I haven’t confirmed my father’s side yet (although with 30 pages of DNA links with 50 people per page, I’m sure my father’s line is represented in there somewhere), it is yielding plenty of valuable information.  The test is now open to the general public for purchase.  Might make a nice addition to the Christmas list.  *grin*

Leave a Reply

