A short rant

This is going to be a short rant about high fructose corn syrup.  Yes, I’m on my soap box again.  Bear with me or click out–your choice.

I ran across an article on my local news site from two doctors regarding the above-mentioned menace, which seems to be in EVERYTHING nowadays, even if it *isn’t* sweet.  Don’t believe me?  Next time you go to the store, start reading the labels on the food you buy.  Anyway, I said it was going to be short, so I’ll highlight just two major drawbacks of high fructose corn syrup.

It causes fatty liver, which can lead to liver disease and cirrhosis.  The liver processes it and turns the excess into fat.  Consume excess HFCS (which isn’t difficult to do since it’s in almost everything) and it stresses the liver when it’s trying to filter the blood and build protein.

Second, if you consume 2-1/2 cans of soda a day your risk of high blood pressure increases up to 77%, which is a major contributor to stroke, heart attack, memory loss, wrinkles and impotence.  I’m not against soda per se–just try to find some that’s made with pure cane sugar.  Easier said than done, considering all the major brands have HFCS as their major ingredient.  Funny thing is, soda made with cane sugar tastes better!

So, you’re thinking manufacturers use HFCS as a cheap filler, right?  Well yes, you are correct, however, they DON’T pass that savings on to the consumer.  Case in point?  Blue Bell ice cream (if it’s available in your area).  This is supposed to be *the* premium ice cream, along the lines of Ben and Jerry, etc.  Guess what they have in every flavor I’ve run across?  High fructose corn syrup.  How much is a half gallon of their ice cream?  SIX DOLLARS.  Even the store brand of ice cream, which used to be really good, has bent over and joined the ranks, adding HFCS.

They can bite my ass.  For that price, I’ll make my own, and it won’t have high fructose corn syrup in it!

One thought on “A short rant

Leave a Reply

