Today’s the day

I bet most people, regardless of their religious beliefs or lack thereof, are getting down on their knees today and proclaiming “Thank God!” that it’s election day and all the political ads/attacks/CRAP will be gone tomorrow.  I am so sick and tired of hearing about it, and I don’t care what side of the aisle it comes from.  I can’t tune into a 30-minute television program without getting EVERY SINGLE COMMERCIAL being a political ad.  There really should be some kind of limit everyone has to adhere to, just for the mental health of the community as a whole.  After a while, it *could* be considered cruel and unusual, even inhumane, punishment having to sit through X number of ads day after day, week after week.

I did my duty as a good citizen and voted.  Of course, I had to go across town to my old voting place since I hadn’t gotten around to changing my address on my voter registration.  I filled out all the required paperwork indicating my new address, got checked off on their list and was shown to the booth.  Reviewed 23 pages on the electronic screen for various races, including the last page that had a local BS issue officials have been trying to shove down our throats for the last six months or so.  Funny how all their ads said *everyone* was for this issue, when everyone I actually talked to said they weren’t.  Ought to be interesting to see how that vote turns out.

I’ve been working on a variety of things lately, mainly the munchkin moving out of her bedroom and into her brother’s old room.  It’s bigger, has a better view, a better insulated window and more closet space.  You’d think she would have jumped at the chance to move in right away, but I think she wanted to see if her brother was going to come back or not, her not wanting to take his bedroom if he needed it.  After more than six months, though, she was assured by the fact he was doing fine in his own apartment, as well as looking healthy and well fed when he stops by to visit.  Of course, with her switching rooms it meant clearing everything out, picking out wall colors and painting, taking down the bi-fold closet doors to repair some hardware then the munchkin deciding she wanted to hang curtains across the closet instead, moving furniture, ordering a new desk and then getting to put together the approximately 500 pieces contained within the box before it could be called a desk, etc.  I’ve taken pictures but, you guessed it, haven’t sucked them off the camera yet.  I’ll post them when I do eventually get around to doing that.

Miracle of miracles, I finally finished my story.  I sat there in shock when I pieced the last couple of paragraphs together and typed “The End”.  It was around 3 in the morning, but even so it took me forever to go to sleep I was so ecstatic over being done.  Gremlins were at work as I was emailing the files back and forth between rough draft, proofreading and final copies–Yahoo’s server (I’m guessing) that handles opening attached files and/or attaching files to the email message died, because any time I tried to open an attachment or stick one on, it just sat there and said “connecting”.  Thankfully I was able to forward all the emails to another account whose server wasn’t having an issue, and I got everything corrected, saved, attached and sent.  Woohoo!!!

Speaking of miracles, I had one happen that topped them all.  I picked up the mail, came back and deposited the pile on the island in the kitchen.  Sorting through it I found an envelope from my brother.  Mentally I’m ticking off the reasons why there would be something from him as I’m opening it–not a holiday, not someone’s birthday, not an anniversary.  I’m thinking maybe they’re moving to a new house or something.  I open it up and pull out the card.  If I had pulled it out face up, it would have hit me a lot sooner, but the back was facing me and I was reading the note he wrote there, which started out “This is NOT a prank…”.  I read the first two sentences, read it again, then started literally screaming and jumping up and down, scaring my daughter half to death.  Yes, after fifteen years of marriage, my little brother and his wife are expecting a baby.  I never thought it would happen–not that there were any physical issues, but just what had happened when we were growing up…he went through SO much more than I ever did with our birth mother, I figured he was too scared to ever be a parent.  If you knew what went down, you would wholeheartedly agree and wouldn’t have blamed him in the least.  I was always so sad about that, because I knew he and his wife would be awesome parents.  Thankfully he came to a place in life where he was able to separate from the trauma and decided it was time.  Flipping the card over, the front says “Love At First Sight” and to the right of that is a picture of their little munchkin on ultrasound, perfectly formed, little hand held up as if waving hello.  I saw that and I started crying, it was just so beautiful.  I can’t even begin to express how happy I am for them.

All in all, things are going pretty good.  We’re enjoying the (slightly) cooler weather and everything is trucking along on an even keel.  Hopefully it’ll stay that way for a while.

And lastly, if you haven’t done it yet, GO VOTE!  You’re not allowed to complain about the results unless you do.  *Grin*

Leave a Reply

