One interesting trip (and it was a “trip”)

(This is going to be another LONG post, so view when you have time to read my long-winded tale. It’s worth it, I promise!)

Apologies for not getting this up sooner. I said there would be a good blog post after the abysmally depressing one earlier, but I’ve been taking care of the munchkin. Bronchitis sucks, but she seems to be doing a little better. Finally broke the 102.5 degree fever, and her breathing is not as labored as the coughing fits have abated to a manageable level. Kudos to ibuprofen, Mucinex and Delsym—these meds are invaluable in managing the nasty symptoms.

Thank you for the sweet emails and comments—they are very much appreciated. Talking about the situation is difficult, which is why most of the details have been limited to protected blogs. Two more chapters are looming on the horizon, and hopefully I’ll be able to deal with them when the inevitable time comes.

Now, to the trip. Hubby hit the ball out of the park with this one. Usually I’m the one who plans the little getaways for anniversaries, vacations, etc, when we can afford to escape. Since I was in emotional overload with recent events, hubby took over the planning.

For our 12th wedding anniversary, hubby arranged a stay up in Marble Falls, Texas, along with a chauffeured wine tour through Heart of Texas Wine Tours. For a set fee, they picked us up at our hotel in a very plush, air conditioned van and took us to five different wineries for wine tastings, all fees included, plus stopping for lunch. Hubby had booked it with highly recommended Annie, but since she ended up being awarded her U.S. citizenship that day, we traded a lovely English lady for Jeff, who was an awesome tour guide himself.

The drive into Marble Falls was a quick hour and fifteen minutes straight up 281. It is a quaint Hill Country town near Johnson City, Blanco and Fredericksburg. We stayed at the La Quinta there, which was a very nice surprise, i.e. being the equivalent of a 5-star hotel with a 2-star price. Yes, I said La Quinta, lol! The La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls is part of the 133 acre La Ventana development, an old World Tuscan style mixed use project. Our room had a private balcony overlooking Lake Marble Falls/Colorado River, and the king sized bed was soooo comfortable. Here are some views from the room:

IMG_5953
IMG_5952
IMG_5951
IMG_5950

Hubby had told me where we were going a couple of days before the trip. We’re both big into genealogy, and since he knew some of my pioneer ancestors were from the general area he gave me a head’s up in case I wanted to go traipse through some cemeteries the day after our wine tour. I did my research and made note of Fredericksburg and Hye, Texas.

If you’ve never taken a wine tour, I highly recommend it. I like wine, but unless a certain variety has been recommended by a friend or has won some kind of competition, it’s really a hit or miss when it comes to finding something you like from the hundreds upon hundreds of varieties out there. A wine tasting at a winery usually consists of five different wines–sometimes they let you pick from a selection while other times they have the five picked out. Each adds up to about two generous sips per variety. Hence if you’re a lightweight like me, anything more than two wineries necessitates a designated driver. And the experience wasn’t snobbish in the least. Face it–some people take wines so seriously, they’re cross-eyed from looking down their nose at everything. I wanted a friendly, warm, laid-back experience, and that’s exactly what we got.

The venues/wineries we went to were spread out all over the place. The first was Taste Wine + Art, Kirchman Gallery in Johnson City, followed by Texas Hills Vineyard near Johnson City on the road to Pedernales State Park, then William Chris Vineyards in Hye, Four Point Cellars in Fredericksburg, and last but not least Messina Hof Winery in Fredericksburg. Lunch was after our visit to William Chris at The Auslander Restaurant and Biergarten in Fredericksburg where they serve authentic German cuisine. You know it’s authentic when you make a run to the restroom and the patrons in there are speaking German!

Jeff picked us up around 11:30 and we stopped at Taste Wine + Art. It’s not really a winery, but an art gallery with a home/garden/land attached. The owners were really sweet people. We actually got a double dose there, as the reps from Cap Rock winery were visiting and they gave us five tastings of their wine on top of the five from the gallery. This was an eye-opening experience for me as well as a disappointment. I prefer red wines, not really caring for whites in general. The whites I’ve tried have been at parties, or ones I’ve used for cooking. Eh…no biggie. Then the Cap Rock guy lays out his wares. The winery has a new owner and they are taking it in a new direction. Good for them, and I wish them all the best. The first four wines were okay, some quite nice. The fifth one…oh my God! It was a Moscato, but the disappointment was it’s not one they have commercially available. This wine smelled EXACTLY like an antique rose, and I do mean exactly. It was beautiful. The taste was the same as the smell. It was an incredible experience, especially since it was a white wine. I was seriously bummed that it wasn’t available yet, and the one they do have available now isn’t anywhere near as awesome, so don’t run out and buy a Moscato from Cap Rock. After that sampling the owner of the gallery took us on a tour of the area where all the plants are, the lovely screened-in room/back porch where he invites all to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while looking out onto the Hill Country view, then back to the gallery to look at the art exhibits, mostly by local artists, and then do their wine tasting. We purchased a small cute bird painting that was done in an unusual medium/technique—don’t ask me how it’s done unless I’m reading the accompanying explanation. The bird looked happy, which is what drew me to it. Our front room in our house is where we sit and have coffee each morning, looking out the window at the birds and squirrels raiding the five feeders we have there, so that pic ended up in that room. We indulged in two of the five tastings the gallery offered, but since the rep had given us five it was a little too much at once, so we bowed out of the last three. Nice place, and I recommend stopping there and checking it out.

Next—Texas Hills Vineyard. Their Orange Moscato 2010 is AWESOME. I cannot recommend this one more highly. You can order it off their website if you can’t find it at a local store, and it is worth every penny. If you click on the link above you can peruse their vineyard, winery, store, etc.

Okay, here we come to the “trip” part. We’ve been having a blast with Jeff, talking about the area wineries, the tour business, the locale, etc. I took some pics of the landscape as he’s driving. I wish I could convey the beauty of what we saw, the vividness of the wildflowers, the intense greenery of the plants from recent rains, but I can’t. These pics do no justice whatsoever as they were taken speeding along at 60-70 mph, but give just a vague hint of the true beauty:

IMG_5948
IMG_5947
IMG_5946
Sunflowers

We’ve just left Texas Hills Vineyard and hubby asks Jeff if we’ll be going anywhere near Hye, Texas. He says yes, William Chris Vineyards are in that general vicinity. Hubby explains that we are into genealogy, and that my great-great-grandfather, Ambrose Colbath, was a Texas Ranger and his father, my great-great-great-grandfather was John Colbath, who donated land to start the Christadelphian cemetery/church/school back in 1882. They are both supposedly buried at the Christadelphian Cemetery in Hye/Stonewall, Texas, but we’re going to have to try and find better directions than what we’ve got to find the place (I’ll elaborate on that below). Right before we get to the vineyards we pass a sign that says Hye, so we’re happy to get an idea of where we’ll be going the next day.

We pull in and are walking up to the building when hubby tells me to stop so he can take a picture, the first time he has done that. Here it is (let me know if you spot any ghosts or other unusual impressions):

IMG_5867

Jeff then takes the camera to get a pic of hubby and me:

IMG_5869

We go inside, are greeted and are given the history of the building, which dates from 1905 and has many original components, old vintage wooden doors comprise the ceiling in the back room, a 400-year-old oak tree in the back, and a pioneer cemetery to the left of the building. Ghost Hunters/Paranormal investigators from Texas have been there three times and are on track to designate the building/grounds haunted. Pretty cool. We go to the back room for the wine tasting and the lady is giving us a summary of the history of the property. They are the third owners from pioneer times, the ones before them being the Deike’s, and the ones before that the Washburns. She goes on to tell us that the original owner, Thomas Washburn, was buried out in the cemetery a short distance from the building along with some of his family. The story went that Mr. Washburn had accused a gentleman of killing a steer belonging to him back in 1875. I think, wow, I guess a lot of that went on back then since there’s a story like that in my family tree. Mr. Washburn then tells the gentleman he’s going to kill him. The man has to go borrow a shotgun before meeting Mr. Washburn for this “duel”. Again, I’m thinking this must have been pretty common for the time since this also matches the story in my family. The woman says they met in a hickory thicket on the Pedernales River and shot it out. The man was faster and Mr. Washburn was killed. They buried him out in the cemetery and engraved on his headstone also is the name of the man he accused. I’m thinking, that’s freaking weird, the story in my family states the man who was killed had engraved on his tombstone the name of my relative.

At this moment Jeff, the tour guide, comes around the corner and tells us we’ve got to see this, it’s our ancestor, Colbath, who killed Washburn! After picking up my jaw off the floor, I follow Jeff into the front room where there’s a framed summary hanging on the wall. Check it out:

IMG_5870

Sure enough, “Ambers” Colbath was actually Ambrose Colbath. After explaining who I was, I asked the owners if we could go see the pioneer cemetery. I didn’t have baby powder with me to accentuate the lettering, but here are the pics:

IMG_5936

The headstone reads:
T.B. Washburn
Born
March 12, 1842
was killed
June 21, 1875
By Ambers Colbath

Washburn

Talk about being totally freaked out. We had no idea we would be visiting this particular winery, nor of the history of the grounds it was located on. Toss in the fact that they think the place is haunted, and let’s just say I was ready to hop back in the van pronto! From the family history as well as other sources, Washburn was the one who initiated this incident. Considering the heavy presence of Indians in the area and their propensity of killing cattle, it made it strange that he would accuse his neighbor of killing the steer, not to mention foolhardy threatening to kill a Texas Ranger. Ambrose married in 1875 and was living near his father/family. My great-grandmother was born not too long after this incident. It was one heck of a strange feeling to realize that if Ambrose had been a little bit slower on the draw, I wouldn’t exist.

The next day we went in search of Christadelphian Cemetery. These are the directions I had found on the internet:

“If you know where this school is near Hye go to this school, turn right (you will see the Christadelphian Campgrounds just in front of you) turn left before the Campgrounds and go about a half mile north and turn right in an open field, follow the signs. You will have to go through a gate and the Cemetery is on your left a little farther along. You will approach from the back end of the Cemetery as the Cemetery Gate is on the East side. This School and the Campgrounds are right on the Pedernales River. (North side). You will have to go on the old road off 290 and it is east of the South Grape Creek School which is on the south side of 290.”

Needless to say, we would have never found the cemetery. Luckily we stopped at the Post Office in Hye and had a lovely conversation with Dorothy Beyer who runs the post office. That post office was where LBJ mailed his first letter at the age of 4.

hye post office2

After shaking her head at the print out we had, she gave excellent directions. Take 290 to Ranch Road 1, turn right on Park Road 49/Klein Road. When it T’s, you’ll see the LBJ one room school house to the left, go right to Redstone Ranch Road. Go down until you see a road marker on the left for Miracle Mile, and there will be a sign below it with Cemetery and an arrow. Go down Miracle Mile until you come to Christadelphian Cemetery Road, which T’s in on the right. Turn right, and the cemetery will be down a ways on the left.

We found it, along with the grave sites for my great-great-great-grandfather and GGG-grandmother, John and Mary Martha Neal (Patsy) Colbath, and my great-great-grandfather Ambrose Colbath.

IMG_5883

Shared tombstone for John and Martha Colbath:

IMG_5898
IMG_5909
IMG_5897
IMG_5926

Ambrose has his marker along with his Texas Rangers Memorial Cross to the right of his headstone:

Ambrose Colbath
Ambrose Colbath
IMG_5920

IMG_5932

Other views of the cemetery:

IMG_5917
IMG_5899

The rest of the trip was quite enjoyable until Friday evening, of course. We learned a lot about different types of wines we like, and fell in love with Moscato as well as Orange Moscato. I picked up a bottle of Grape Creek Muscat Canelli since we had visited their vineyard in the past and enjoyed their wines. The Muscat rates right up there with the Texas Hills Orange Moscato, but if I were given a choice between the two, I’d have a hard time choosing.

I would have never thought a wine tour would end up yielding a gem in genealogy, but it did. I gave both Heart of Texas Wine Tours and William Chris Vineyards permission to pass on this tale at later times in their ventures. I also told the owner I would send them pictures/documents regarding Ambrose Colbath and his service in Company D Frontier Battalion under the command of Captain C.R. Perry in 1874, as well as his grave site.

I wonder if Ambrose wanted his role in this whole thing clarified, since the only documentation was the framed summary at the William Chris Vineyards. Seriously, what are the chances I’d end up there? From what I can tell, he was backed into a corner and he did what he had to in order to protect himself and his family. Me? I’m just happy he was a little bit quicker than Washburn.

11 thoughts on “One interesting trip (and it was a “trip”)

  1. My name is Heather Bradford and my great-great-great grandfather was Ambrose Colbath. My mom and I had contacted the Texas Ranger Association and had the cross put on his grave.

    • Hi Heather! Ambrose was my great-great grandfather, his first born daughter Bertha my great grandmother, her first born daughter Florence my grandmother. That is such a wonderful thing that you and your mom did, honoring Ambrose and making sure there is a designation of his service to the Texas Rangers at his grave site. I’ll send you my email address through the one included in your comment.

  2. Lot of relative around here!
    Ambrose was MY Great Grandfather.
    His Daughter Ethel was my Grandmother. On a trip to Fredericksburg to visit her in the mid 70’s she asked my father to take us out to the Christadelphian cemetery. I can remember it like it was yesterday. She took me by the hand and walked me to his head stone ( which was REALLY a stone with his name and date scratched into the surface) and asked me to remember him and his grave site. She told me he was a “Good man, and took good care of his family.”
    a few years back I thought about that occasion and went hunting. I found the gravesite and the stone. Decided that I would get a more fitting marker for his burial site, but when I went back it was already marked with the Ranger maker.

    THANK YOU, HEATHER!

    I’ll have to stop by and visit the TB Washburn gravesite.
    I do know that the Gillespie county website has a section on wanted people and at one time Ambrose was indicted for the death of TB Washburn. But haven’t been able to dig any deeper to see what the outcome of the indictment was!
    One of these days I’ll find the time to spend in the archive at Fredericksburg!
    When I do, I WILL post the findings!

    I do love the internet!

    Glenn Reeh
    GReeh@GVTC.com

    • Hi Glenn,

      I found the Galveston Daily News, April 25, 1879, reported that Ambrose was acquitted but did not provide details of the original altercation. According to the report in the newspaper, a jury of 12 men acquitted Ambrose. Since Ambrose was a former Texas Ranger, and with the historians’ accounts of Washburn threatening to kill Ambrose, it’s possible they saw it as self defense.

      It’s amazing what one can find using the internet and following leads, if one is persistent (and stubborn) enough! 🙂

      • You don’t happen to have a link for the Galeveston article?

        And how did you ever think to look in Galveston?????

        Glenn

    • The link to the Galveston Daily News is http://www.newspapers.com/image/#30103012 on the newspapers.com website. I have a subscription–not sure if you can view without a subscription? I did a search for the names of Washburn and Colbath on that website, as well as Fold3 and others. The search is what led me to the Galveston Daily News, and it appears that newspaper did news summaries for counties throughout Texas, including Gillespie.

  3. Wow! Gotta love the internet! Ambrose was also my great great grandfather. Ethyl (Sugar) the daugher of Ambrose was my grandmother. My name is Shannon Reeh. What an awesome article. Thank you so much for doing this Lisa.
    One of these days I’m gonna come see you Glenn!

    • It is crazy what a small world it can be sometimes! Was talking last night about Fredericksburg and the cemetery so just googled it for fun this morning. I was happy to see Glenn Reeh in the comments, didn’t expect to see your name though! Best family tree ever!
      Love ya dad,
      Jr.

  4. Now this is strange, that was a Nice Story. What a small world, I am Charles Armstrong, T.B. Washburn was my GGGrandfather on my mothers side of the family. If you look at that picture of TB that hangs on the wall, he was only 33 years old, he looks like he was 80. Those were hard times. I am the person who wrote the story that hangs on the wall in TB’s sons old house. Ambrose was indited for Murder on July 9th. 1875 in Gillespie County, The Governor offered a $200.00 reward at the time. Our family is related to Robert Gillespie a Captain in Texas Ranger of whom the County is named after. Charges were later dropped. If I remember correctly Ambrose was a Ranger a year and a half or maybe two years. I have had a few of the Colbath family members contact me through Ancestry.com. and wondered if the family still holds a grudge. Strange Question. We are coming after all you Golbath’s. Not really no one in our family holds any grudge. There are many stories that have been told over the years, who knows which one is really true. What is it that you want to be true for your family’s name sake. Strange things happen in our lives and this was just one of them, it just makes things interesting.

    Bless you all
    Charles Armstrong
    pcadesign@outlook.com

    • Hi Charles,
      Thanks for leaving a comment. I cannot speak for anyone else, but I for one do not hold any type of grudge. History is just that…history. It’s nice to know where we come from, what events shaped the lives of our ancestors that led to us being here. Of all my ancestry searches/researching, that trip remains the number one strangest event I have ever experienced. There are always three sides to a story, A’s side, B’s side, and the truth. It was a hard time, and regardless of how things played out, we’re here carrying on our respective family lines.
      Blessings to you and your family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

