Happy Easter, a recipe and a commercial

I hope those who celebrate Easter had a wonderful holiday, and everyone got to enjoy a beautiful day. We did our usual Easter egg hunt, with the cats being eager participants, lol! If the munchkin couldn’t find an egg, the cats were more than happy to lead her to it. I kept the brunch menu simple since hubby had to go to work, and made a maple-glazed ham, mashed sweet potatoes and Italian green beans. I created a homemade sponge cake from my Grandma’s recipe, sliced up fresh strawberries, grabbed some whipped cream and made strawberry shortcake for dessert. The recipe I’m going to post at the bottom, though, is for making the maple glaze for a ham. It is soooo good, and the family prefers it for holiday gatherings.

You might be wondering about the commercial reference. Occasionally a commercial will catch my attention for whatever reason, but this one had me laughing so hard I was crying, and even Hubby was laughing over it. Why? Because it is so *me*. After seeing it on TV, I did a search on Youtube and found it. Miracle Gro Commercial

I should be arrested for crimes against potted plant-kind. My house is where plants came to die…

And before I forget, here’s the recipe:

Maple Glaze For Ham

1 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons butter

In a small saucepan melt the butter over low heat. Stir in the honey, brown sugar and maple syrup and heat through. (Do not let it boil, though, because it negatively impacts the honey).

Use this to frequently baste a ham throughout the baking process, at least every 20 minutes. Very, very tasty!

One thought on “Happy Easter, a recipe and a commercial

Leave a Reply

