A new year

It never fails to amaze me how quickly time flies as one gets older. It seems like you blink, and there’s another year gone by. Our Christmas and New Year’s celebrations were very enjoyable. We made the rounds, got to see everyone Christmas Eve before hosting our annual Christmas Day meal here. I didn’t do a bunch of shopping gift-wise, but everyone seemed happy with what they received. New Year’s Eve was quietly celebrated at home, as I have no desire to get out amongst the crazy drunks on the road. A bottle of pink champagne saw in the New Year, along with kisses and hopes for another year of blessings and good fortune.

I managed to find a little quiet time to work on the last chapter of the story. I deliberated between making it two chapters, but I think I’ll just do one large one along with an epilogue. Now that the hustle and bustle of the holidays has quietly passed, the Muse is starting to whisper once again.

Hubby and I have already been discussing and beginning to work on the garden. I harvested the last two watermelons from the left side bed, and hubby cleared out the last of the spent plants and tilled the soil before laying in some landscaping timbers. This will allow us to raise the level of the soil a little when we add compost/organic matter and keep the borders contained. He cleared a section on the right side of the yard which he plans on tilling tomorrow. That one will be an expansion of what we did last year, giving us more room to work with. Now that winter is here and the plants have died back, I can finally see where the arms of the octopus rose are laying on the ground. I’ve had several climbing roses in the past, but I’ve never had one that in its first year grew to the size of a 4-year-old climber. Hence, I did not have the trellis needed to anchor it to, because I didn’t think I’d need it yet. We’ll be making a run to Lowes in the next couple of days to see if we can find one sturdy enough for it. Considering the branches already have “buds” swelling along the full length that will sprout leaves and new branches, I need to do this as soon as possible.

I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions for the most part. I’m trying to maintain my routine of going to the gym the best I can. My blood pressure stays well within the normal range when I work out on a semi-regular basis and keep myself at a decent weight, plus I have more energy and sleep better. I’m striving for more veggies with meals and in main dishes, keeping the high-starch items (white rice, pasta, white potatoes) to a minimum. Hubby likes things like snow peas, fresh green beans and spinach, so those will be planted in the garden to (hopefully) make their way into our meals. Just little things like that are on my to-do list. Other than that, we’re just doing what we always do. 🙂

I hope 2012 is good to everyone, and that many dreams come true this year!

Leave a Reply

