Finally

Finally, it’s the last day of summer–OMG, I never thought it was ever going to get here!!! Friday is officially the first day of autumn. Between the drought, wildfires and the horrendous broiler-like heat, I have never been so glad to see a season come to an end.

The yard is a sad, sad place. Despite our best efforts, plants can only tolerate being baked in an oven day after day for so long. Surprisingly I’m still harvesting Anaheim peppers and bell peppers, but that’s about it. Everything else is baked to a crisp. Hubby and I are planning the fall garden–I planted about two dozen cups with seed about six weeks ago, so we have squash, pumpkin, cucumber, sweet peas, beans, etc, ready to be set into the garden, along with a variety of other seeds and clearance plants from Lowes. Though, given the drought, I’m not holding my breath on getting any super deals from Lowes like I normally do. I did manage to find a site with clearance prices on seeds, tulips and daylilies, so I put in an order with the hopes of happier planting time ahead.

Since I haven’t been able to get outside safely in the heat, I’ve focused on other indoor activities. The little one has decided to try something new, and joined the orchestra at school, playing the violin. I’m familiar with the clarinet and saxophone from the boy’s time in band, but string instruments are a whole different animal. Surprisingly the sounds coming out of the instrument actually sound like a violin instead of the horrid screeching I was anticipating. She’s excited, and I’m excited for her.

The boy seems to have found his footing with his second year in college, focusing on nursing. Are you ready for a laugh? I got a text from him, complaining that in one class his 100’s were bringing down his 102 average. I thought I had died and gone to heaven. I know it’s not going to last–there are natural highs and lows in classes, and 100 is not something I expect to be held forever–but it sure is nice to experience it while that “high” lasts.

I’ve been working on genealogy research in between other projects. My cousin up in New Hampshire has been awesome. She was going through her grandmother’s photo album (her grandmother was the sister of my great-grandmother) and she found a picture which she scanned in and sent to me. Check it out:

George William, Edwidge and Alfred
That is my great-grandfather and my great-grandmother right after they were married in 1917, and my great-great-grandfather, her father. Considering I started out with the names of my grandparents and nothing else when I began researching more than a decade ago, I can’t express how precious photos like this are. They raised an amazing family, lived through World War I, the Great Depression and World War II…eleven children, three of whom were stillborn, and one special needs. There were ups and downs as there are in all families, but discovering their story and the legacy they left behind has been very special. All families have black sheep, and theirs was no exception. But I have learned that despite the black sheep, there are plenty of awesome individuals in everyone’s family tree–you just have to dig for them. And I found another chef, my great-grandmother’s brother. After World War II, he settled in New York with his wife and became a chef. That’s in addition to my grandmother’s brother, who was a chef here in San Antonio. All these tidbits of information are little clues into myself–in this instance my intense love of cooking. Not to mention, it’s kind of neat to look at pictures of my grandfather when he was young and pictures of my brother at the same age, and see a resemblance so strong you would swear they were brothers, but also see the resemblance in earlier generations, too. DNA is a funny thing.

Speaking of cooking, we found a new restaurant that has quickly become our favorite–Copeland’s of New Orleans. They opened up here around the beginning of July–have locations in Louisiana, Texas, Maryland, Georgia, etc. We’ve eaten there three times so far, and each time I’ve ordered something different off their lunch menu or small tasting plates. There hasn’t been one thing I haven’t liked, and it is classic New Orleans flavor. If you have a Copeland’s near you, you must try it.

Here’s hoping for much cooler temperatures, a successful autumn/winter garden, and many more discoveries in genealogy. Happy Autumn!

Leave a Reply

