A versatile and simple healthy snack

I spend a lot of my free time in the kitchen, trying out and creating new recipes because I love to cook. For me it’s creative, it’s fun, and I love it when I make something so good family and friends rave about it. A lot of my recipes aren’t necessarily healthy; I do my best to incorporate fresh fruits, veggies, good fats and proteins into my dishes, but there are times the results are downright naughty. The way I look at it is, I’m going to enjoy life, and that includes naughty food…among other things. *Grin*

But, when I find something healthy that I like, I’m happy. When it’s simple and versatile, combined with cheap, I’m bordering on ecstatic. So what is this discovery?

Plain Greek yogurt.

Now before you go wrinkling your nose up, hear me out. Plain Greek yogurt is nothing like regular plain yogurt. First of all, it’s very thick and creamy. Thicker than sour cream, but not quite as thick as cream cheese. Compared to regular yogurt, Greek yogurt is lower in carbs, has twice as much protein and is lower in sodium. If you’re looking for probiotics, it’s loaded.

It’s also the latest “craze”. People realized if they snacked on this stuff while following a modest diet and exercise, they lost more body fat. Flavored Greek yogurt tastes good, so now you’ll see little individual containers of it, sometimes with granola attached, for $1.45 on up to $2.00. Yes, for a single serving.

No, that does not fall into my cheap category whatsoever. But, I had a coupon, so I tried the nifty little individual container of blueberry Greek yogurt with crunchy granola topping. Oh…my. This stuff is GOOD. Much, much better than regular flavored yogurt, in my opinion. So the bargain hunter in me started devising a plan.

There, next to the cute little individual yogurts was a huge container of The Greek Gods Traditional Plain Greek Yogurt for about $3.00. Into the cart it went, and the experimentation began.

First was the sweet route. I scooped out a single serving of the plain yogurt, added in 1 large sliced strawberry (which is way more fruit than you’d find in any yogurt) and a generous teaspoonful of honey. Stirred it together, and…yum! Since it has almost double the protein, it takes longer to start feeling hungry again–a healthy snack that satisfies. I start making a list of all the different fruits to try mixing in–blueberries, bananas, cherries, basically anything you’d find in the regular flavored yogurt section.

Next was the savory route. This time into the single serving of yogurt went a half teaspoon of dried onion, a dash of onion powder, a dash of garlic powder and a little bit of sea salt. Stirred it together, and tasted. If you like French Onion Dip, you will love this. Thicker, yes, but it tastes awesome. While I wouldn’t necessarily eat French Onion Dip by the spoonful, this yogurt version is perfectly acceptable like that. Would also be great as a dip for some fresh carrots, celery, broccoli, etc.

It doesn’t get any simpler than this. You’re only limited by your imagination, and you’ll be doing something good for your body in the process.

Greek yogurt. If you haven’t tried it, you don’t know what you’re missing.

Leave a Reply

