A mystery solved, and a new one

I had an interesting surprise today out in the garden. Last fall I ordered roses, and in with the order was a free “mystery” rose. The company grows roses from cuttings, and this rose was one where the tag had been misplaced and they had no idea what it was. I placed it in a pot on the patio since I didn’t know what it was–rose bushes can range in size from tiny miniatures to house-swallowing monsters. I was hoping once it bloomed I could identify it, or at least watch its growth habit and get an idea of its size before placing it in the yard.

The blooms have varied in shading from almost pure white to a faint pinkish blush. Here are two pics of the latest bloom:

IMG_4760
IMG_4762

Anyway, all of the roses from this order had bloomed in the garden, except one–Mlle. de Sombreuil. Mlle. is a tea rose, whereas plain Sombreuil is a climber. I had the climber Sombreuil in the past, so I was excited to find Mlle. She has blooms that are white to a faint pinkish blush. Last week I saw she had a bud forming. I watched. I waited. Yesterday the tiniest bit of the petal started to show…a hot raspberry pink.

Roses are notorious for turning out completely different than the initial hint of color in a bud, so I waited. I didn’t have to wait long. I went out today, and found a hot raspberry pink bloom on the bush. It is extremely fragrant, but it is NOT Mlle. de Sombreuil. Needless to say I was disappointed…at first. Then that little voice told me to go take a closer look at my rose on the patio. I examine the blooms, go to the website where I ordered the roses from and look at the pics…

Yes, you guessed it–the one on the patio is Mlle. de Sombreuil. Apparently the tag (one you stick in the dirt, not one that encircles a branch) had fallen out while assembling my order and they stuck it back in the wrong pot. So, the true “mystery” rose ended up being planted in the garden, while Mlle. got the pot on the patio.

I’m thrilled that I have Mlle. de Sombreuil, and since I know her growth habit I can now choose a spot for her. However, as far as the mystery imposter in the garden, I have no idea what it is.

I’m just keeping my fingers crossed it doesn’t turn out to be one of those monster house-swallowing specimens. Now, the search is on for its identity.

Leave a Reply

